25 November 2018

A Book to Read if You Love Historical Fiction: My MacArthur by Cindy Fazzi

Are you a fan of historical fiction novels? Well, I have for you one that you definitely need to check out. It's called My MacArthur by Cindy Fazzi, based on the relationship between Douglas MacArthur and Filipino actress, Isabel Rosario Cooper.

Here's a bit about the book (courtesy of the author):

The year is 1930. The place: Manila. Douglas MacArthur is the most powerful man in the
Philippines, a United States colony. He’s fifty years old, divorced, and he falls in love at first sight with a ravishing young Filipino woman. He writes her a love note on the spot. Her name Isabel Rosario Cooper, an aspiring movie actress. One glance at his note and she thinks of him
my MacArthur.

MacArthur pursues his romantic obsession even though he’s breaking numerous taboos. She reciprocates his affection because he could open doors for her financially struggling family. ThatMacArthur happens to be handsome compensates for the fact that he’s as old as her father.

When MacArthur is appointed the U.S. Army chief of staff, he becomes the youngest four-star
general and one of America’s most powerful men. Out of hubris, he takes Isabel with him to
America without marrying her.

Amid the backdrop of the Great Depression, MacArthur and Isabel’s relationship persists like "a perilous voyage on turbulent waters,” as she describes it. In 1934, after four years of relationshipMacArthur leaves Isabel for fear of a political scandal.

The general goes on to become the iconic hero of World War II, liberating the Philippines and
rebuilding Japan. Isabel drifts in Los Angeles unable to muster the courage to return to Manila.

What I Thought;

I'm not normally a fan of historical fiction but reading about Isabel really made me glad to discover this book. She was determined and I could completely relate to how much she wanted to get out of the spot she was in. Unfortunately, things didn't quite work out how she wanted. The characterization of Isabel felt very real to me and while this wasn't your standard happily ever after, I was still glad I read this book.

If you love historical fiction novels, I highly recommend My MacArthur by Cindy Fazzi. You will definitely love how the author depicts this complicated, rocky roller coaster of a relationship!

My MacArthur is now available to purchase on Amazon.com as an e-book (and print) as well as at Barnes and Noble.

About the Author


 Cindy Fazzi is a Filipino-American writer and former Associated Press reporter. She has worked as a journalist in the Philippines, Taiwan, and the United States. My MacArthur, published by Sand Hill Review Press, is her literary debut. She writes romance novels under the pen name Vina Arno. Her first romance book, In His Corner, was published by Lyrical Press in 2015. Her second romance novel, Finder Keeper of My Heart, was published by Painted Hearts Publishing in 2018. Her short stories have been published in Snake Nation Review, Copperfield Review, and SN Review.

You can find Cindy at -

Author Website: https://www.cindyfazzi.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CindyFazzi

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cindyfazzi/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Cindy-Fazzi-779654065440439/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/862157.Cindy_Fazzi


GooglePlus: https://plus.google.com/+CindyFazzi/about

This book was part of WOW! Blog Tour and if you are looking for book promotion, be sure to send me an email to npyles[at]wow-womenonwriting.com. Want to read great books like this one? Make sure you send me an email to that same email address!

I received a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review. 

2 comments:

  1. Hi Nicole,
    I’m so glad I “discovered” you and WOW! Women on Writing. I love your enthusiasm and curiosity as a writer; keep on writing and submitting. Last, thanks for reading MY MACARTHUR and reviewing it!
    All the best,
    Cindy

    ReplyDelete

I love comments! The good, the bad, and the ugly, so tell me what you have to say! And if you like what you read (or at least find yourself entertained), follow my blog to read more. Although I'm not always able to respond to comments immediately, I appreciate every one of them.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

AddThis

All Blog Posts Belong to Nicole Pyles. Powered by Blogger.