18 May 2018

A Book to Read if You Love a Good Thriller [The Pinochet Plot]


As I write this, it's raining outside and I love rain in May. It's warm and everything is just so green and lush. What a beautiful time of year! So, thanks to WOW! Blog Tours (with WOW! Women on Writing) I had the chance to review a really good book called The Pinochet Plot. Here's a little bit about the book -

Successful San Francisco attorney Will Muñoz has heard of the brutal former Chilean dictator Augusto Pinochet, of course, but it's not until he receives his mother's suicide letter that he has any inkling Pinochet may have had his father, Chilean writer Ricardo Muñoz, assassinated thirty years earlier.

Her suspicions spur Will on to a quest to discover the truth about his father's death–and about the psychological forces that have driven his mother to her fatal decision. His journey takes him deep into unexpected darkness linking his current step-father, the CIA, drug-experimentation programs, and a conspiracy of domestic terrorism. The Pinochet Plot is not just a story of a man seeking inner peace; it is also a story of sinister history doomed to repeat itself.

What I Thought:

I really enjoyed this thriller! I'm not usually one for political thrillers as this one sometimes felt, but I thought this was captivating and well done. It was written in first person, which gave me close insight to the main character. I liked the main character a lot and enjoyed the details used to describe his childhood, family and the surroundings. The author did an EXCELLENT job of being detailed about everything the character was experiencing and it was such a richly told book. The book also takes you through some very real history which was very interesting! Admittedly, some did go over my head, especially with the CIA angle, but it was a book where I just had to see what happened! I oddly didn't like the female character, Cheryl, in the book. Yet I did like how Will's mom was portrayed and his memories of her and how she was during his youth.

Anyways this book was fantastic and a definite must read!

Visit this Amazon link to purchase a copy of the book.  

Here's also a bit about the author and where you can find him -\

David Myles Robinson grew up in Pasadena, CA. He holds degrees from San Francisco State University and the University of San Francisco School of Law. After practicing law for thirty-eight years in Honolulu, Hawaii, he retired with his wife, former Honolulu judge Marcia Waldorf, to Taos, NM. Robinson is the author of three previous novels: legal thrillers Tropical Lies and Tropical Judgments, and Unplayable Lie, a golf-related suspense novel.

Find David Online:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/38825244-the-pinochet-plot

David Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/DMRobinsonWrite

David Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DavidMylesRobinson/

David Website: www.davidmylesrobinson.com

I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. Also if you want to join in with WOW! Blog Tours and find incredible books to read like this, send me an email at nicole@wow-womenonwriting.com and I'll let you know about which incredible books are available to read next!

Categories: ,

6 comments:

  1. Nicole, thanks so much for reviewing The Pinochet Plot. I'm glad you enjoyed it - I hope your readers do as well. Please feel free to share with me what it is you didn't like about Cheryl as your input will help me to become a better writer. You can email me through my website if you'd prefer to keep it personal. In any event, again, thanks for hosting my book on your blog.

    ReplyDelete
  2. That sounds like a compelling read!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love thrillers and this one is most definitely on my to read list!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh, this sounds like a summer must-read! I'm looking for a good thriller and this seems to fit that!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I am a big fan of thrillers and this one sounds like a great read!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Love your review and that David Robinson commented keeping an open ear to your review. I love thriller and this one is on my list!

    ReplyDelete

I love comments! The good, the bad, and the ugly, so tell me what you have to say! And if you like what you read (or at least find yourself entertained), follow my blog to read more. Although I'm not always able to respond to comments immediately, I appreciate every one of them.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

AddThis

All Blog Posts Belong to Nicole Pyles. Powered by Blogger.