17 April 2018

A Book to Read If You Love Young Adult Paranormal Books [Book Review]

 I love when a book takes me by surprise! I tend to read the most during my hour commute home. Lately, it's been especially nice for reading because of the chilly and rainy weather which really makes me want to stay inside.

Anyways, I had the chance to review the book Crossing the Line by Ellen Wolfson Valladares as part of the WOW! Women on Writing Blog Tour (by the way, if you are interested in taking part in future blog tours send me an email at nicole@wow-womenonwriting.com; better yet, if you want your book in a blog tour, email me about that too!)

So, before I tell you what I thought, here's a little bit about the book:

Laura, who died thirty years ago, enlists the help of a tenacious high school reporter named Rebecca, who is very much alive. Rebecca, although skeptical and conflicted by her supposed encounters with a spirit, determines to learn the truth about Laura’s tragic death. As the clues unravel and their worlds collide, Rebecca finds herself at a dangerous crossroads.
Laura, now pulled back into everything she left behind when she died – her old high school and memories of her life and death—has been in training for this exact moment. And nothing means more to her than succeeding at her assignment.
It is her one chance to make sure that what happened to her does not happen to anyone else, and especially not to her new friend, Rebecca.

Paperback: 300 pages
Genre: Fiction / Young Adult Novel
Publisher: WiDO (March 2018)
ISBN-13: 978-1-937178-99-4

What I Thought

Like I said earlier in this post, this book took me by total surprise! I read it over this past weekend and it captivated me right away. I couldn't put the book down. It's one of those books that I would love to see as a series as well.

I loved the main characters in the book, especially Laura and Rebecca's relationship. They both represented similar personalities but also very different. Each chapter gave deeper insight to the character's journey and this was so well done. The paranormal aspect was also well written! It wasn't overdone or "too much" which I appreciated.

While this book dealt with paranormal and the "other side" it also really portrayed how much harm can come from gossip, mean girl tactics, and bullying. It really shows you how much you can do by just reaching out and being a friend to someone. I think it's a fantastic book for teens and adults to read and I think you will enjoy it. 

Purchase a copy of the book now at Amazon.com!

About the Author:
Ellen Wolfson Valladares is an award-winning writer/author, workshop facilitator, community volunteer, and mother. A native Floridian, she grew up in St. Petersburg and graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Journalism from the University of Florida. She has worked as an editor, public relations professional, and freelance writer. Her first book, a children’s novel entitled Jonathan's Journey to Mount Miapu, received several awards, including a Mom’s Choice Gold Award and the 2009 Coalition of Visionary Resources Visionary Awards Book of the Year award. She also has a meditation CD, entitled “Healing and Manifestation with the Archangels.”
Today, Valladares continues to work as a freelance writer. She also enjoys coaching high school students working on their college essays and helping other writers realize their dreams. She has been married to her husband, Manny, for 30 years and they have two sons, Gabriel and Michael, two dogs, Flash and Chili Pepper, and a crazy cat named Zelda. They live in Weston, Fla.
Find Ellen Online:

Website: http://www.ellenvalladares.com

Twitter: @ValladaresEllen

FB: @EllenValladares444 (link: https://fb.me/EllenValladares444)

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3023698.Ellen_Wolfson_Valladares

Make sure to check out all the stops on the tour by visiting the links below! Visit the Muffin (first link to win a copy of the book!).

----------Blog Tour Dates

Monday, April 16th @ The Muffin

Join us at the Muffin for an author interview and book giveaway for the fictional young adult novel by Ellen Valladares, Crossing the Line.

http://muffin.wow-womenonwriting.com/

Tuesday, April 17th @ World of My Imagination

Nicole Pyles reads and reviews “Crossing the Line” by Ellen Valladares. This is a fun young adult novel that readers will be sure to delight in!

http://theworldofmyimagination.blogspot.com/

Wednesday, April 18th @ Beverley Baird

Beverley Baird reviews "Crossing the Line" by Ellen Valladares. Readers won't want to miss this fast paced young adult novel!

https://beverleyabaird.wordpress.com/

Thursday, April 19th @ Memoir Writer’s Journey

Ellen Valladares pens today's guest post at Kathleen Pooler's Memoir Writer's Journey. Don't miss this great post titled "Your Writer's Purpose -- how creating your purpose/vision can keep you on target" and learn more about Valladares latest novel "Crossing the Line".

https://krpooler.com/

Thursday, April 19th @ Write Like Crazy

Mary Jo reads Ellen Valladares "Crossing the Line" and shares her thoughts with readers at Write Like Crazy.

writelikecrazy.com

Friday, April 20th @ BookWorm

Anjanette Potter delights readers at Bookworm with her review of the YA Novel "Crossingthe Line" by Ellen Valladares.

https://bookworm66.wordpress.com/

Saturday, April 21st @ Spark the Wizard

Brandi at Spark the Wizard shares her thoughts in a review of Ellen Valladares novel"Crossing the Line".

http://sparkthewizarduprising.com/

Monday, April 23rd @ Bring on Lemons with Cathy Hansen

Wisconsin entrepreneur and school teacher reviews the latest novel by Ellen Valladares. Don't miss this opportunity to find out more about the YA Novel "Crossing the Line".

http://bringonlemons.blogspot.com/

Tuesday, April 24th @ Finished Pages

Today, at Finished Pages, readers have an opportunity to learn more about "Crossing theLine" the latest novel by Ellen Valladares. Don't miss Renee's review of this YA Novel!

http://finishedpages.com/

Wednesday, April 25th @ Reviews by Deb

Deborah Blanchard shares her thoughts after reading "Crossing the Line" by accomplished author and journalist Ellen Valladares.

https://www.facebook.com/Reviews-by-Deb-1737715249887520/

Thursday, April 26th @ Digging with the Worms

Eric Trant reviews the latest novel by Ellen Valladares. See what Eric thinks of "Crossingthe Line" and find out more about this great book and accomplished author.

http://diggingwiththeworms.blogspot.com/

Thursday, April 26th @ Phy Tallic

Phy reviews the delightful YA Novel "Crossing the Line" by Ellen Valladares.

https://phytallic.wordpress.com/

Friday, April 27th @ Write Happy

Today at Write Happy, Cathy Brown will be interviewing Ellen Valladares about her latest novel "Crossing the Line". Don't miss this opportunity to learn more about this YA Novel as well as hear some tips from the accomplished journalist and author Ellen Valladares.

https://www.writehappy.net/blog

Monday, April 30th @ Ellen Valladares

Crystal J. Casavant-Otto from WOW! Women on Writing reviews "Crossing the Line" by Ellen Valladares and shares her thoughts with readers at Valladares blog.

http://ellenvalladares.com/ellens-blog/

Tuesday, May 1st @ I Just Want to Finish My…

Brittany shares her thoughts after reading "Crossing the Line" by Ellen Valladares. Don't miss this insightful blog stop for this delightful Young Adult Novel!

http://www.ijustwannafinishmy.com/

Wednesday, May 2nd @ Hott Books

Don't miss today's guest post at Hott Books! Distinguished author Ellen Valladares shares her post titled: 'The Inspiration Behind Crossing the Line'. You'll want to learn more about this delightful YA Novel!

http://www.hottbooks.com/

Friday, May 4th @ Frasers Fun House

Melanie at Frasers Fun House reviews "Crossing the Line" by Ellen Valladares.

https://frasersfunhouse.com/

Monday, May 7th @ Word Nerd Media

Elizabeth at Word Nerd reviews the latest novel by Ellen Valladares. You won't want to miss a minute of this captivating YA Novel "Crossing the Line".

https://www.wordnerdmedia.com/
Categories: ,

3 comments:

I love comments! The good, the bad, and the ugly, so tell me what you have to say! And if you like what you read (or at least find yourself entertained), follow my blog to read more. Although I'm not always able to respond to comments immediately, I appreciate every one of them.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

AddThis

All Blog Posts Belong to Nicole Pyles. Powered by Blogger.